Frustrated

First, I have to apologize to those of you who actually read my blog. I haven’t written in over a week, I am pretty disappointed in myself. All week, I have been dealing with this sickness/injury/general pain. I work all day, and when I get home I’ve just been too tired to write. I have this condition called costochondritis, which is the inflammation of the chest wall and rib cage. It hurts really bad, the pain mimics that of a heart attack. The pain is worsened by deep breathing, exercise, eating, and just general moving. So it sucks. I mean it really sucks.
Its getting better everyday, and I’m happy I was well enough to leave for vacation, but it’s frustrating. Beyond just the everyday setbacks, it’s frustrating in another way for me as well. I think it’s about time I address my biggest passion, running.
I have been a competitive distance runner for five years now. I ran cross country and track throughout my four years in high school, and it meant everything to me. For those four years, I never took more than a day off. Everyday I went out and ran with all of my heart. For four years, I put all of my emotional being into that one thing. And I loved every second of it πŸ™‚
Looking back, I’m really proud of my career. I definitely didn’t appreciate it at the time, and there are goals that I never accomplished. But as a whole, I really am proud of what I accomplished. My team won a cross country district title, I qualified for the state meet twice, and my PR was one of the top five times in school history.
That being said, there was still a lot I wanted to do outside of high school. Half way through my senior year, I was sidelined with a bad case of plantar fasciitis. For months I was in and out of a boot and crutches. It was sad to not be able to finish off my high school career, but I had my sights set on greater things: running at the University of South Carolina.
Well…. That didn’t really work out. At all. My plantar fasciitis never really got better, and between that and the pressure of being a NCAA athlete, it was just too much. In January I ended up quitting the team and decided to transfer to James Madison University, where I do not plan on competing. Since then, I have attempted to get back into running, on my own terms, but the plantar fasciitis always got in the way. I took a ton of time off just to let it heal, and honestly? Right now, it feels the best it has in two years. But then, the costochondritis came. And that means no physical activity until that clears up, which can take months 😦
So that’s why I’ve been frustrated. I miss running a whole lot. A lot of people think I’m crazy for being so obsessed with running, and I probably am. But running just has this effect on me, it’s makes me calm, inspired, and confident all at once. And as they say…

Running… Cheaper than therapy.

Haha, anyway I miss the feeling that I get from running. And lately, I just feel like I can’t catch a break, too many things keep getting in the way. I always kind of thought that running was my destiny, and maybe it still is, but that’s okay if it’s not too. The good thing is that these injuries (or whatever) have taught me a lot. There’s a lot more to life than running, and I’m good at a lot of other things. Plus, it’s never to good to invest too much of your being into a single thing.

Hopefully the costochondritis will clear up soon and I get back to running. Right now I’m more focused on being able to eat solid foods… My plan is to run a half marathon on November 16. If I’m not ready by then, well that’s okay. I’ve learned it’s important to just enjoy the ride πŸ™‚

Until next time, which I promise will be much sooner! xoxo Katie

4 thoughts on “Frustrated

Leave a Reply

