It Was Only Inevitable

Those of you whom are close to me were probably just waiting for this to happen. Just wondering when I would mention my biggest obsession. It’s time for me to reveal one of my favorite things in life: World Wrestling Entertainment otherwise known as WWE. 

Image

My brother, Will, and I at WWE Smackdown

Some of you may be surprised, most people are. I am certainly not your stereotypical WWE fan. I am totally a girly girl. My favorite color is pink, I always wear bows in my hair, I love wearing dresses, and I spend way too much time worrying about my hair and makeup. But yes, I am a WWE fan; a diehard fan. Last night, I attended my third WWE show in one year. Yes, my third in only one year! And all three of them were freaking awesome.

My dad has watched WWE his entire life, so it was always on in our house. I never used to watch it; but every Monday night when I would be doing my homework at the kitchen table, my dad had RAW on, and I slowly got wrapped up into the story lines. Plus, I always had CM Punk’s entrance song stuck in my head, so that was more motivation for me to watch; and I had someone to cheer for! Last December, the WWE came to Columbia to do a show at the USC basketball stadium. Students could get tickets dirt cheap, so I figured, why not? I bought my $12 ticket and went to the show. Best 12 dollars I have ever spent. I was absolutely enthralled, and I have been obsessed ever since.

Being a WWE fan is the thing I get made fun of the most for. And there is one thing that myself and every WWE fan gets all the freaking time that annoys me to no end!

You know its not real, right?

OF COURSE I KNOW IT’S NOT REAL YOU DUMBASS. This is the biggest misconception about the WWE. People think fans view it as an athletic event. People actually think that the fans show up to the show believing they are witnessing real fights and they are all being duped because the fights are staged. Really only a tiny percentage of fans believe the fights are real- mostly children. WWE is just like any normal TV show. The wrestlers are all actors playing a character, there are story lines and conflicts, and the actual wrestling matches advance those stories. Just like any TV show. When somebody says that they love CSI, you don’t say to them, “Oh, you know that those crimes are fake, right? Like those people didn’t actually die. It’s fake.” NO of course you wouldn’t, thats ridiculous! You shouldn’t do it for WWE, either.

I get why people don’t completely understand it, though. There is nothing like it on TV, it is completely unique. It’s not just a show, its an experience. For one, every episode is taped in front of a live audience. But as a member of the audience, you become an integral part of the show. The writers rely on the audience to cheer for certain wrestlers and boo for others. If the audience doesn’t react as planned, the whole idea is shot. All of the plot lines are influenced by the fans’ reactions, and that is something pretty awesome about WWE.

Image

Tucker and I at WWE Raw

I used to be really embarrassed by my love of WWE. I never talked about it to anyone outside of my family. But when it comes down to it, watching WWE makes me genuinely happy. I enjoy watching it and it makes my life a little bit better. Its something I can bond over with my dad, brother, and boyfriend. Why would I let anyone ruin that for me?

I think that’s really what makes the WWE so cool. When I was at the show in Hampton, VA last night, everyone around me was just so happy to be there. When the “bad guys” came out we were angry, and even more so if they won. So excited to see our favorite wrestler enter the ring. Sad to see the heroes fall. It brings out such raw human emotion in people. Seeing the kids at the show was especially cool. You can see the pure joy on their faces! The WWE gives them confidence, makes them feel like they are a part of something. And I think that’s what makes the WWE so special; every fan gets to be a part of something huge.

Yesterday’s show was my brother’s first WWE event. Will is normally a pretty shy kid, and he gets more nervous in situations with lots and lots of people. As we were leaving the loud, crowded arena, Will spotted one of his favorite wrestlers on the stage, Titus O’Neil. O’Neil also happened to play for Will’s favorite college football team, the University of Florida (he went by Thaddeus Bullard back then). O’Neil was doing a meet and greet on the stage, and Will was dying with excitement. He just had to go get a closer look. So as the security guards were pushing people out of the arena, shy little Will somehow snuck by the guards and made it to the stage. With absolutely no shyness, he yelled, “Hey Titus! Go Gators!” And Mr. O’Neil responded with a vibrant thumbs up 🙂 Will came sprinting back with the biggest smile on his face, more excited than I had ever seen him. The moment was absolutely priceless, something I will cherish forever. And I’m so thankful the WWE was able to give it to me.

xoxo Katie

P.S. To any WWE fans reading this, LET’S GO CENA!

🙂

One thought on “It Was Only Inevitable

Leave a Reply

